Central Highlands

The NDIS is now available in Central Highlands as of 1 January 2017.

Central Highlands covers the local government areas of:

  • Ararat
  • Ballarat
  • Golden Plains
  • Hepburn
  • Moorabool
  • Pyrenees

People who live in one of these areas and receive support from the Victorian Government, will be contacted by the National Disability Insurance Agency.

This also includes people who are waiting for supports on the Disability Support Register (DSR) and Early Childhood Intervention Services (ECIS).

People that don't currently receive Government support will need to fill out an 'Access Request Form' and submit it to the NDIA to access the new Scheme.

To access the NDIS

To access the NDIS, people with a disability need to meet aged and residence requirements and the disability or early intervention requirements.

To do this, you can:

  1. Find out more about eligibility requirements
  2. Complete the NDIS access checklist on the NDIS website
  3. Read more about what you can do to get NDIS ready
  4. Visit the NDIS website for more information or call the NDIA on 1800 800 110

Order of transition

In order to ensure a smooth transition to the NDIS in Victoria, people who are already receiving Victorian Government services in Central Highlands will transition according to an agreed phasing plan. The plan is outlined below.

From January 2017

  • Futures for young Adults
  • DSR Waitlist
  • New clients and other Commonwealth clients
  • Commonwealth Residential aged care (young people)
  • Commonwealth Home care (young people)

From February 2017

  • Supported accommodation
  • Individual Support Packages

From April 2017

  • Early Childhood Intervention Services
  • Attendant Care
  • Student Transport
  • Other disability activities (Community and Facility Based Respite, Flexible Support Packages, Outreach, Behaviour Intervention Services, Case Management, Recreation, Therapy, and Independent Living Training)

From May 2017

  • Mental Health Community Support Services (MHCSS)
  • Home and Community Care (HACC)

Other disability activities include: community and facility based respite, flexible support packages, outreach, behaviour intervention services, case management, recreation, therapy and independent living training.

If a client receives support from more than one of the below listed activities, they will enter the NDIS based on which activity phases in first. In the case of Central Highlands, someone who receives both an Individual Support Package and Home and Community Care would transition to the NDIS from February 2017 (as Individual Support Packages is their first activity to commence transitioning to the NDIS).

Fact sheet - Central Highlands (Word, 210KB)

Media releases