North East Melbourne

The NDIS is now available in the North East Melbourne area as of 1 July 2016.

North East Melbourne covers the following council areas:

  • Banyule
  • Darebin
  • Nillumbik
  • Whittlesea
  • Yarra

People who live in one of these areas and receive support from the Victorian Government, will be contacted by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA).

This also includes people who are waiting for supports on the Disability Support Register (DSR) and Early Childhood Intervention Services (ECIS).

If they don't currently receive Government support they will need to fill out an 'Access Request Form' and submit it to the NDIA to access the new Scheme.

To access the NDIS

To access the NDIS, people with a disability need to meet aged and residence requirements and the disability or early intervention requirements.

To do this, you can:

  1. Find out more about eligibility requirements
  2. Complete the NDIS access checklist on the NDIS website
  3. Read more about what you can do to get NDIS ready
  4. Visit the NDIS website for more information or call the NDIA on 1800 800 110

Order of transition

In order to ensure a smooth transition to the NDIS in Victoria, people who are already receiving Victorian Government services in North East Melbourne will transition according to an agreed phasing plan. The plan is outlined below.

From July 2016

  • Commonwealth - Residential aged care (young people)
  • Commonwealth - Home Care (young people)

From August 2016

  • Supported accommodation
  • Individual Support Packages

From October 2016

  • Early Childhood Intervention Services
  • Attendant Care

From November 2016

  • Student Transport

From December 2016

  • Futures for young Adults
  • Other Disability activities

Other disability activities include: community and facility based respite, flexible support packages, outreach, behaviour intervention services, case management, recreation, therapy and independent living training.

From May 2017

  • Mental Health Community Support Services (MHCSS)

MHCSS activities to transition to the NDIS are: Adult Residential Rehabilitation Services, Individualised Client Support Packages and Supported Accommodation Services.

  • Housing and Community Care (HACC)

If a person receives support from more than one of the below listed activities, they will enter the NDIS based on which activity phases in first. For example, in the North East Metropolitan area, if a person is receiving both an Individual Support Package and HACC support and case management, they would enter the NDIS from August 2016. Clients residing together in shared supported accommodation will be transitioned at the same time where possible.

Fact sheet - North East Melbourne (Word, 272KB)