2017 Victorian Honour Roll of Women

Twenty-five exceptional women have been inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women, celebrating contributions made to local communities and achievements from human rights advocacy to sport and medicine.

This year’s inductees include Dr Christine Tippett, a specialist in high-risk obstetrics, businesswoman Hana Assafiri, media personality and UNICEF Ambassador Carrie Bickmore, the first female to coach in the AFL Peta Searle and the late Stella Young, activist and comedian who challenged the way Australians view disability.

Each year, the Honour Roll celebrates exceptional women in Victoria who have made significant and lasting contributions to their local community, the nation or the world. The 2017 inductees will join more than 600 remarkable women named in the Honour Roll since it commenced in 2001.

This year an Ambassadors and Alumni program will be launched, expanding the platform of these women beyond a ceremonial event once a year. This program will be an opportunity to bring together these women – and the communities they represent – to raise the profile of women’s leadership in Victoria.

This year’s inductees are:

Ms Brenda Appleton
Ms Hana Assafiri
Dr Lou Bennett
Ms Carrie Bickmore
Mrs Patricia Bigham
Mrs Sheila Byard OAM
Dr Marguerite Evans-Galea
Mrs Karen Hayes
Ms Mel Jones
Mrs Rae Kingsbury
Ms Kim Koop
Ms Celeste Liddle
Ms Rafaela Lopez
Ms Jessica Macpherson
Ms Helen Marcou
Ms Kristy McKellar
Dr Ruth McNair
Ms Natalie Miller OAM, AO
Ms Anna Moo
Ms Susan Provan
Ms Peta Searle
Ms Wendy Steendam
Dr Christine Tippett AM
Mrs Jan Wilson
Ms Stella Young

Read the stories of this year's inductees.

2017 Victorian Honour Roll of Women Commemorative booklet 2017 Victorian Honour Roll of Women Commemorative bookletPDF (877.93 KB) Back to top