Community engagement


Ricci Marks Award

The Ricci Marks Award originated in 1997 as the Aboriginal Young Achievers Award. Now in it's 21st year, the award recognises individual achievements and aspirations of young (16-25 years) Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in training, education, arts, sport, culture and community leadership.

2018 nominations are open

Nominations are open for the 2018 Ricci Marks Award. Nominations close on the midnight Sunday 15 April 2018.

2018 Ricci Marks Nomination Form 2018 Ricci Marks Nomination FormPDF (957.43 KB)

What do award recipients win?

The award is given to 2 recipients who each receive a bursary of $5,000. A special commendation award, the Ricci Marks Rising Star Award, recognises a third young person with a bursary of $1,500.

Who is Ricci Marks?

In 2004 the Award was named in memory of Ricci Marks, a recipient of the Award in 2000, who tragically died in a car accident. Ricci Marks was a proud Wotjobaluk man from Halls Gap. He worked as a cultural officer for the Brambuk Aboriginal Cultural Centre. He was also highly regarded as a footballer, playing with the Heywood Football Club.

Ricci Marks Award winners.

Want more information?

Contact: Lidiya Simyanovska
Email: lidiya.simyanovska@dpc/
Phone: 03 8392 5326