Preferred locations

HomesVic provides applicants with an extensive range of options when searching for their first home. There are 30 priority areas spanning 85 Melbourne suburbs, 130 town and suburbs in and around key regional centres and seven peri-urban towns.

The locations have been chosen in areas where there is a high demand for housing and good access to employment, public transport and other services.

In filling out the HomesVic Program Application form, applicants are required to select up to 10 choices of dwelling types and priority areas. Please note that under the HomesVic pilot, participants may not acquire houses in the Box Hill, Fisherman’s Bend or Parkville priority areas but may acquire townhouses or apartments in those three priority areas. Houses are permitted to be acquired in all other priority areas.

The Government has already provided provisional approvals for almost 250 first home buyers to participate in the pilot. Allocations for Werribee houses are fully subscribed and some of the dwelling types in a number of priority areas are close to being full, as per the tables below.

Metropolitan Melbourne




Box Hill n/a Filling Filling
Broadmeadows Filling Nearly full Filling
Dandenong Filling Nearly full Nearly full
Epping Nearly full Nearly full Filling
Fishermen’s Bend n/a n/a Nearly full
Footscray Filling Filling Nearly full
Fountain Gate - Narre Warren Nearly full Filling Filling
Frankston Nearly full Filling Filling
Latrobe Filling Filling Filling
Monash Filling Filling Nearly full
Pakenham Nearly full Filling Filling
Parkville n/a Filling Nearly full
Ringwood Nearly full Filling Nearly full
Sunshine Filling Filling Nearly full
Werribee Full Nearly full Nearly full

Peri-Urban Towns*

All Standard Residential Properties

Bacchus Marsh Filling
Kilmore-Wallan Filling
Kyneton-Gisborne Filling
Drouin-Warragul Filling

Regional Victoria*

All Standard Residential Properties

Ballarat Filling
Bendigo Filling
Castlemaine Filling
Geelong Filling
Latrobe City Filling
Mildura Filling
Seymour Filling
Shepparton Filling
Wangaratta Filling
Warrnambool Filling
Wodonga Filling

Note: * subject to change pending reallocation requests

The Priority areas are comprised of the following suburbs:

Metropolitan Melbourne

  • Box Hill Area – Box Hill, Blackburn, Nunawading and Surrey Hills
  • Broadmeadows  Area – Broadmeadows, Coolaroo, Dallas, Fawkner, Glenroy, Jacana, Meadow Heights and Westmeadows
  • Dandenong Area – Dandenong, Doveton, Endeavour Hills, Hallam, Keysborough, Lynbrook and Noble Park
  • Epping Area – Epping, Lalor, Mill Park, South Morang and Thomastown
  • Fishermen’s Bend Area – Port Melbourne, South Melbourne and Southbank
  • Footscray Area – Footscray, Ascot Vale, Flemington, Kensington, Seddon and West Footscray
  • Fountain Gate-Narre Warren Area – Narre Warren, Berwick, Hallam, Hampton Park, Harkaway, Narre Warren North and Narre Warren South
  • Frankston Area – Frankston, Karringal, Langwarrin, Carrum and Seaford
  • LaTrobe Area - Bundoora, Heidelberg, Heidelberg Heights, Heidelberg West, Ivanhoe, Kingsbury, Macleod, Rosanna, Reservoir and Viewbank
  • Monash Area - Clayton, Mount Waverley, Mulgrave, Notting Hill, Oakleigh and Springvale
  • Pakenham Area – Pakenham and Officer
  • Parkville  Area – Parkville, Brunswick, Carlton, North Melbourne, Flemington, Travancore and Ascot Vale
  • Ringwood  Area – Ringwood, Croydon, Heathmont, Bayswater and Mitcham
  • Sunshine Area - Sunshine, Albion, Braybrook, Brooklyn,  Sunshine North, Sunshine West, and Tottenham
  • Werribee Area – Werribee, Hoppers Crossing, Point Cook, Tarneit , Williams Landing and Wyndham Vale

Peri-urban Towns

  • Bacchus Marsh
  • Kilmore and Wallan
  • Kyneton and Gisborne
  • Drouin and Warragul

Regional Victoria

  • Ballarat Area – Ballarat Central, Alfredton, Ballarat East, Ballarat North, Black Hill, Canadian, Delacombe, Eureka, Golden Point, Invermay Park, Lake Gardens, Lake Wendouree, Lucas, Miner’s Rest, Mitchell Park, Mount Pleasant, Newington, Redan, Sebastopol, Soldiers Hill and Wendouree
  • Bendigo Area – Ascot, Bendigo, Big Hill, California Gully, Eaglehawk, Eaglehawk North, East Bendigo, Epsom, Flora Hill, Golden Gully, Golden Square, Ironbark, Jackass Flat, Kangaroo Flat, Kennington, Long Gully, Maiden Gully, Mandurang, Mandurang South, North Bendigo, Quarry Hill, Spring Gully, Strathdale, Stratfieldsaye and White Hills
  • Castlemaine Area – Castlemaine, Barkers Creek, Campbell’s Creek, Chewton, Golden Point, Harcourt, Mackenzie Hill and Moonlight Flat
  • Geelong Area – Geelong, Armstrong Creek, Bell Park, Bell Post Hill, Belmont, Breakwater, Corio, Drumcondra, East Geelong, Geelong West, Grovedale, Highton, Marshall, Manifold Heights, Newcomb, Newtown, Norlane, North Geelong, North Shore, St Albans Park, South Geelong, Thomson, Torquay, Wandana Heights and Whittington
  • Latrobe City Area – Churchill, Moe, Morwell, Newborough and Traralgon
  • Mildura Area –  Mildura Central, Birdwoodton, Cabarita, Cardross, Irymple, Koorlong, Merbein, Merbein West, Nichols Point, Red Cliffs, Wargan and Yelta
  • Seymour Area – Seymour, Avenel, Hilldene, Mangalore, Northwood, Tallarook, Trawool and Whiteheads Creek
  • Shepparton Area – Shepparton, Grahamvale, Kialla, Mooroopna, Mooroopna North, Orrvale, Shepparton East and Shepparton North
  • Wangaratta Area – Wangaratta, East Wangaratta, Laceby, North Wangaratta, Oxley, Oxley Flats, Waldara, Wangandary and Wangaratta South
  • Warrnambool Area – Warrnambool, Allansford, Bushfield, Dennington, Wangoom and Yangery
  • Wodonga Area – Wodonga, Bandiana, Castle Creek, Leneva and West Wodonga