Victoria government logo
Chris Miller CEO of State Electrcity Commission Victoria standing in a park

Interim Chief Executive Officer

Chris Miller has been appointed Interim Chief Executive Officer of the SEC. The Interim Chief Executive Officer will advise the Minister for the State Electricity Commission in relation to:

  • the purpose and objectives of the State Electricity Commission
  • appropriate legislation, statutory powers and policies (including investment mandate and policies)
  • an appropriate operating model

An Expert Advisory Panel will support the CEO by providing advice on the strategy, functions, operations and form of the SEC, including how it will deliver 4.5 GW renewable generation assets, accelerate Victoria’s energy transition, and secure future jobs for Victorians.

Prior to his appointment as Interim CEO, Chris was Deputy Secretary, Tourism and Events at the Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions (DJPR). Before joining DJPR, Chris held senior executive roles, including General Counsel, at the Department of Premier and Cabinet where he advised the Premier on Victoria’s energy, infrastructure and transport portfolios, among others.

Before joining the Victorian Public Service, Chris worked in various roles at EnergyAustralia and practised as a commercial lawyer at King & Wood Mallesons. In those roles, Chris advised on a broad range of matters relating to energy, including mergers and acquisitions, generation and upstream development, project financing, carbon, utilities regulation, and commercial contracting.

Expert Advisory Panel

An Expert Advisory Panel will support the Victorian Government and the CEO by providing advice on the strategy, functions, operations, and form of the SEC, including how it will deliver 4.5 GW renewable generation assets, accelerate Victoria’s energy transition, and secure future jobs for Victorians.

John Bradley

John Bradley - Chair

John is the Secretary of the Department of Energy Environment and Climate Action in the Victorian Government (previously the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning), President of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) Victoria, and serves on the Victorian Secretaries Board.

He was previously the CEO of Energy Networks Australia representing gas distribution and electricity transmission and distribution businesses providing services to almost every Australian energy customer. John has diverse expertise in the electricity, gas, water and resources sectors and has partnered with national and international stakeholders in natural resource management, conservation and sustainability.

Dr. Alan Finkel AC- SEC

Dr. Alan Finkel AC

Alan is a neuroscientist, researcher, engineer and entrepreneur who has played a leading role in shaping Australia’s energy development, climate response, research and education ecosystems.

As Australia’s Chief Scientist from 2016 to 2020, he led the National Electricity Market Review, Climate and Disaster Resilience Review, the development of the National Hydrogen Strategy. As Chair of the Technology Investment Advisory Council and Special Adviser to the Australian Government on Low Emissions Technologies he led the development of the 2021 Low Emissions Technology Statement and brokered international low emissions technology partnerships.

He has been Chancellor of Monash University and is currently Chair of Stile Education.

Anna Skarbek

Anna Skarbek

Anna is CEO of Climateworks Centre, working to develop the low carbon economy. She was a founding board director of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation and the Carbon Market Institute and is a director of the Green Building Council of Australia, Centre for New Energy Technologies and Sentient Impact Group. She is a member of the Blueprint Institute’s strategic advisory council and the Grattan Institute’s energy program reference panel and the 2020 Mission Innovation Champion for Australia.

Anna is a former director of Impact Investment Group, the Linking Melbourne Authority, Amnesty International Australia and The Big Issue, and has been a member of the Australian Government’s Energy White Paper reference panel, Land Sector Carbon and Biodiversity Board, and Victoria’s Independent Review of the Climate Change Act. She has a background as an investment banker, policy advisor and lawyer.
Andrew Penn

Andrew (Andy) Penn AO

Andy has had an extensive career spanning telecommunications, financial services and shipping. As CEO of Telstra from 2015-22, following roles as Chief Financial Officer and Group Executive International, he led a major change program (T22) transforming Telstra to compete in the rapidly changing technology world with 5G at its core. Andy's Telstra background means he can provide unique insights into the provision of an essential service within a commercially competitive environment.

Prior to joining Telstra, Andy spent 23 years with AXA, one of the world’s largest insurance and investment groups, including roles as CEO from 2006-2011 of AXA Asia Pacific Holdings and CFO. At AXA, Andy was instrumental in building one of the most successful Asian businesses by an Australian company sold to its parent in 2011 for more than A$10bn. Prior to AXA Andy spent 9 years with the P&O Shipping Group based in London.

Audrey Zibelman

Audrey Zibelman

Audrey is a former Managing Director and CEO of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO), where she led AEMO’s management of Australia’s ongoing transition to a decarbonised energy sector. Prior to joining AEMO Audrey was Chairwoman of the New York Public Service Commission, the economic regulator of electric, gas, water, steam and communication utilities in New York, and is an appointed member of President Biden’s National Infrastructure Advisory Council.

She was Vice President at X (formerly Google X), is a Member of the Board of Trustees for the Rocky Mountain Institute, a global NGO working on decarbonisation, and a Senior Advisor at the Pollination Group. She is/has been a board member of the Advanced Energy Economy, Squadron Energy, an Australian renewable energy developer, US-based EOSE, a zinc bromide battery manufacturer, and SPAN, a US manufacturer of smart electric panels that support home electrification and facilitate EV and PV adoption.

Jo Benvenuti

Jo Benvenuti

Jo is an experienced consultant specialising in consumer engagement and energy and water policy. A former Executive Officer at the Consumer Utilities Advocacy Centre, Jo was the previous Chair of the Consumers’ Federation of Australia, and Chair of the recent Electricity Distribution Network Resilience Review Expert Panel and Embedded Networks Review Expert Panel.

Jo is currently a Director at Gippsland Water with a special interest in regional consumer issues and financial hardship, previously held executive positions for the Energy and Water Ombudsman Victoria and RSPCA Victoria, and served as a member of the COAG Energy Council - Independent Energy Appointments Selection Panel.

Reviewed 07 February 2023

Was this page helpful?