Know Your Council – Colac Otway Shire Council

Return to council map


Located in Victoria’s south west, Colac Otway Shire is diverse with volcanic lakes, craters and plains in the north, the hinterland forests of the Otway Ranges and the Great Ocean Road coastline.

Colac is situated beside Lake Colac, on the Princes Highway, 160 kms west of Melbourne and within a commutable distance from Geelong. The Shire is built on agriculture, manufacturing and tourism with employment growing in the health sector.

Diverse industries include dairy, beef, sheep, crops, specified pastures, horticulture and organic farming; timber, manufacturing and service, construction and retail.


Aire Valley, Alvie, Apollo Bay, Balintore, Barongarook, Barongarook West, Barramunga, Barwon Downs, Beeac, Beech Forest, Birregurra, Bungador, Cape Otway, Carlisle River, Carpendeit, Chapple Vale, Colac, Colac East, Colac West, Coragulac, Cororooke, Corunnun, Cressy, Cundare, Cundare North, Dreeite, Dreeite South, Elliminyt, Eurack, Ferguson, Forrest, Gellibrand, Gellibrand Lower, Gerangamete, Glenaire, Grey River, Horden Vale, Irrewarra, Irrewillipe, Irrewillipe West, Jancourt East, Johanna, Kawarren, Kennedys Creek, Kennett River, Larpent, Lavers Hill, Marengo, Mount Sabine, Murroon, Nalangil, Ombersley, Ondit, Pennyroyal, Petticoat Creek, Pirron Yallock, Separation Creek, Simpson, Skenes Creek, Skenes Creek North, Stonyford, Sugarloaf, Swan Marsh, Tanybryn, Warncoort, Warrion, Weeaproinah, Weering, Whoorel, Winchelsea, Wingeel, Wongarra, Wool Wool, Wye River, Wyelangta, Yeo, Yeodene and Yuulong.

Static map image of Colac Otway Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Unsubdivided - Cr Stephen Hart
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Jamie Bell
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Graham Costlin
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Kate Hanson
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Joe McCracken
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Chris Potter - Mayor
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Margaret White

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission