JavaScript is required

Know Your Council – Golden Plains Shire Council

Return to council map View Council data


The Golden Plains Shire is predominately rural, with a number of small township servicing local communities between Ballarat and Geelong.

The Shire is the fifth fastest growing municipality in regional Victoria; in 2014-15 had a growth rate of 2.0%. Many Golden Plains residents work in Ballarat or Geelong.

The Shire’s economic base is provided through agriculture, retailing, construction and manufacturing. Agriculture is responsible for $144 million worth of output annually and employs 25.6% of the Shire’s workforce.

The main industries include agriculture (wool and grain growing, intensive poultry and pig farming), construction and wine manufacturing.


Anakie, Bamganie, Bannockburn, Barunah Park, Batesford, Berringa, Berrybank, Cambrian Hill, Cape Clear, Corindhap, Cressy, Dereel, Durdidwarrah, Durham Lead, Enfield, Garibaldi, Gheringhap, Grenville, Haddon, Happy Valley, Hesse, Illabarook, Inverleigh, Lethbridge, Linton, Mannibadar, Maude, Meredith, Morrisons, Mount Bute, Mount Mercer, Murgheboluc, Napoleons, Newtown, Nintingbool, Piggoreet, Pitfield, Pittong, Rokewood, Rokewood Junction, Ross Creek, Russells Bridge, Scarsdale, She Oaks, Shelford, Smythes Creek, Smythesdale, Springdallah, Staffordshire Reef, Steiglitz, Stonehaven, Sutherlands Creek, Teesdale, Wallinduc, Werneth and Wingeel.

Static map image of Golden Plains Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Further information