Know Your Council – Latrobe City Council

Return to council map


Latrobe City is located 135 km east of Melbourne. It is the principal service centre for the Gippsland region and includes the regional headquarters for significant government and private organisations, and education centres. The Latrobe Valley generates 85% of Victoria's electricity, from its large reserves of brown coal.

Other major industries include timber processing, and the manufacturing of paper products as well as the provision of services to the Gippsland region. Latrobe has a young population, with 45% of residents aged under 35 – of these 28% are under 10.


Balook, Boola, Boolarra, Boolarra South, Budgeree, Callignee, Churchill, Cowwarr, Darlimurla, Delburn, Driffield, Flynn, Flynns Creek, Glengarry, Glengarry North, Glengarry West, Grand Ridge, Hazelwood, Hazelwood North, Hazelwood South, Hernes Oak, Jeeralang, Jeeralang Junction, Jumbuk, Koornalla, Loy Yang, Maryvale, Mid Valley, Mirboo, Moe, Moe South, Moondarra, Morwell, Mount Tassie, Narracan, Newborough, Tanjil South, Toongabbie, Traralgon, Traralgon East, Traralgon South, Tyers, Yallourn, Yallourn North, Yinnar and Yinnar South.

Static map image of Latrobe City Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Central - Cr Graeme Middlemiss
  • Central - Cr Tracie Lund
  • East - Cr Dale Harriman
  • East - Cr Kellie O'Callaghan - Mayor
  • East - Cr Dan Clancey - Deputy Mayor
  • East - Cr Darren Howe
  • South - Cr Melissa Ferguson
  • West - Cr Sharon Gibson
  • West - Cr Bradley Law

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal Community Profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission