Know Your Council – Mornington Peninsula Shire Council

Return to council map


The Mornington Peninsula Shire is a boot-shaped promontory separating the Port Phillip Bay and Western Port, just over 40 kms south east of Melbourne.

Characterised by unique townships,highly valued green wedge land, areas of national and international conservation significance and covering 723 Km2 of land, the Mornington Peninsula encompasses 10% of Victoria’s coastlines, spanning 192 kilometres.

Reminiscent of the Mediterranean with its vineyards and olive groves, historic country house retreats and intimate hotels, the Peninsula is one of the major holiday destinations for Melbourne. It encompasses some of Victoria's most iconic national and state parks, world class wineries, a large and diverse range of parks and reserves, foreshore areas, wetlands, and a myriad of bay walking trails.

The Peninsula has an older population with 24% of the population aged over 65, the highest proportion in Greater Melbourne. The Shire’s industry strengths include building construction, manufacturing, healthcare, tourism and agriculture, forestry and fishing.


Arthurs Seat, Balnarring, Balnarring Beach, Baxter, Bittern, Blairgowrie, Boneo, Cape Schanck, Crib Point, Dromana, Fingal, Flinders, Hastings, HMAS Cerberus, Kunyung, Main Ridge, McCrae, Merricks, Merricks Beach, Merricks North, Moorooduc, Mornington, Mount Eliza, Mount Martha, Pearcedale, Point Leo, Portsea, Red Hill, Red Hill South, Rosebud, Rosebud West, Rye, Safety Beach, Shoreham, Somers, Somerville, Sorrento, St Andrews Beach, Tootgarook, Tuerong and Tyabb.

Static map image of Mornington Peninsula Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Briars - Cr Steve Holland - Mayor
  • Briars - Cr Anthony Marsh
  • Briars - Cr Despi O'Connor
  • Cerberus - Cr Lisa Dixon
  • Nepean - Cr Susan Bissinger
  • Nepean - Cr Sarah Race
  • Red Hill - Cr David Gill
  • Seawinds - Cr Antonella Celi
  • Seawinds - Cr Debra Mar - Deputy Mayor
  • Seawinds - Cr Kerri McCafferty
  • Watson - Cr Paul Mercurio

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission