Know Your Council – Towong Shire Council

Return to council map


Towong Shire is a pristine rural and relatively unpopulated area.

The economy of the shire is based around primary production, particularly agriculture and forestry.

There are many small towns in the municipality, such as Corryong and Tallangatta, that service these industries.


Bellbridge, Berringama, Bethanga, Biggara, Bullioh, Bungil, Burrowyne, Colac Colac, Corryong, Cudgewa, Dartmouth, Eskdale, Georges Creek, Granya, Guys Forest, Huon, Jarvis Creek, Koetong, Lucyvale, Mitta Mitta, Mount Alfred, Nariel Valley, Old Tallangatta, Pine Mountain, Shelley, Talgarno, Tallandoon, Tallangatta, Tallangatta East, Tallangatta South, Tallangatta Valley, Thologolong, Thowgla Valley, Tintaldra, Tom Groggin, Towong, Towong Lower and Walwa.

Static map image of Towong Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Unsubdivided - Cr Aaron Scales
  • Unsubdivided - Cr David Wortmann - Deputy Mayor
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Andrew Whitehead - Mayor
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Denise Anderson
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Peter Dikschei

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission