vic_logo

Aboriginal Community Initiatives Fund applications open now

Sunday 28 February 2021 10:00pm

The Victorian Government, through Family Safety Victoria is providing $1.1 million, to support community led projects that educate, prevent, reduce and respond to family violence in Victorian Aboriginal communities.

These projects address priorities that are identified by the 11 Dhelk Dja Action Groups in Victoria.

The fund supports projects that:

  • Are Aboriginal led, including Aboriginal led partnerships
  • Are consistent with the goals and objectives of the Dhelk Dja Action Groups and strengthen the capacity of Aboriginal communities and Aboriginal organisations to address family violence at a local level
  • Will provide an on-going or long-term benefit to the community
  • Complement existing local community projects or initiatives and demonstrate partnerships with other government or non-government initiatives
  • Align with Dhelk Dja: Safe Our Way – Strong Culture, Strong Peoples, Strong Families 10 Year Agreement (2018-2028)

Guidelines and applications

Victorian Aboriginal organisations and/or Aboriginal community groups can submit applications for once off funding for projects of varying amounts. A total of $100,000 is allocated per region.

Funding will be made available for projects to be delivered from July 2021 to June 2022.

To apply, download a copy of the Aboriginal Community Initiatives Fund guidelines and application form and contact your Regional Coordinator (see More information for contact details).

Key dates

  • 1 March 2021 – Call for applications
  • 6 April 2021, 5pm – Extended application closing date and time
  • 9–22 April 2021 – CIF Regional Assessment Panels and applicant interviews convened
  • May 2021 – All applicants advised of outcome 
  • July 2021 – Project commencement
  • June 2022 – Project completion

More information

For more information, contact your Regional Coordinator located in the Dhelk Dja Action Group regions.

Metropolitan Dhelk Dja Action Groups

Eastern Metropolitan Region
Thomas Harrison
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0400 732 869
Email: thomas.harrison@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Northern Metropolitan Region
Lynda Whitaker
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0429 524 591
Email: lynda.whitaker@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Southern Metropolitan Region
Eliza Mango
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0447 670 135 
Email: eliza.mango@dhhs.vic.gov.au 

Western Metropolitan Region
Jacqueline Watkins 
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0418 923 986
Email: jacqueline.watkins@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Regional Dhelk Dja Action Groups

Barwon South West Region
Tania Dalton
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0417 396 946
Email: tania.dalton@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Grampians Region
Andrew Harrison 
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0427 267 451
Email: andrew.harrison@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Hume Region
Tony Triado
Manager Population Health and Community Wellbeing 
Mob: 0439 003 985
Email: tony.triado@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Inner Gippsland Region
Shannon Nicholson 
Regional Coordinator 
Mob: 0429 423 152
Email: shannon.nicholson@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Loddon Campaspe Region
Leroy Badenoch
Senior Advisor
Mob: 0447 454 696
Email: leroy.badenoch@dhhs.vic.gov.au   

Mallee Region
Trudy Rigney 
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0418 625 876
Email: trudy.rigney@dhhs.vic.gov.au  

East Gippsland Region
Glenys Watts
Regional Coordinator
Mob: 0417 798 380
Email: glenys.watts@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Reviewed 23 June 2021

Was this page helpful?