Dr Lois Peeler AM

Dr Peeler AM has dedicated her life to supporting Aboriginal Australians as an educator, advocate and role model.


Lois is the Executive Director / Principal of Worawa Aboriginal College.

From the historic Cummeragunja Aboriginal Reserve, throughout her life Lois’ family worked tirelessly to improve conditions for Aboriginal people and were instrumental in the establishment of Aboriginal health, legal and education services.

They created the first-ever independent Aboriginal secondary school in the early 1980s, Worawa Aboriginal College. Lois was Australia’s first Aboriginal Model and in the early 1960’s, worked with the Australian Wool Bureau and later on the GTV 9 Breakfast session with Hal Todd.

Following in the footsteps of other members of her family, Lois has extensive experience in Aboriginal Affairs having worked in the Aboriginal community sector, the State and Federal public service sector and in the corporate sector.

She was Assistant Director of the Aborigines Advancement League before moving to the public sector where she worked for sixteen years at a senior level within Federal and State Government departments managing Aboriginal Affairs.

Lois has held numerous directorships in Indigenous Affairs and the tourism industry. In 2003 Lois received a Centenary Medal for her work in Indigenous Tourism.

She was co-author of the Respecting Our Culture (ROC) accreditation program for the Australian tourism industry, co-author of the Yorta Yorta Language Heritage Program, author of the Aboriginal Oral History of the Flats of Mooroopna / Shepparton and Director of “The Flats” DVD.

Lois is on a range of Indigenous community organisations including as Independent Representative on VAEAI, Member of the Centre for Strategic Education Indigenous Education Focus Group, the Victorian Indigenous Education Network and the Victorian Aboriginal Justice Advisory Committee, and is the Chair of the Eastern Metropolitan Regional Aboriginal Justice Advisory Committee.

In June 2014, Lois was made a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia. The award was made for her "significant service to the Indigenous community as an educator, advocate and role model”.