Governing Board

The Authority has a Governing Board appointed by the Minister for Industrial Relations.

The Authority has a Governing Board appointed by the Minister for Industrial Relations. The Board provide strategic direction and make sure we fulfil our statutory responsibilities.

The Board’s term of appointment is from April 2022 until April 2025. Board members have a mix of skills, qualifications and experience. The Board includes representation for employers and workers across the covered industries.

Chair and Deputy Chair

Julius Roe, Chair

Julius’s career spans 40 years in industrial relations, including as Fair Work Commissioner from 2010 to 2017. He has been a member of the Police Registration and Services Board since 2018. Since July 2017, Julius has been working as a consultant, handling mediation in a diverse range of workplace disputes in the public and private sectors.

Julius has been a leader in vocational education and training policy, including on a number of boards at both state and national level. He was National President of the Australian Manufacturing Workers Union from 2000–2010.

Claire Filson, Deputy Chair

Claire Filson has worked extensively in the financial services sector, with more than 20 years’ boardroom experience in superannuation and infrastructure businesses.

Before taking a break to travel in 2010, she was a Director on the Board of Emergency Services and State Superannuation, a 150,000-member public sector superannuation fund managing $15 billion. Claire has a mix of skills spanning law, governance and risk management and is currently a director of Greater Western Water and the Deputy Chair of the Port of Hastings Development Authority and the Indigenous Land & Sea Corporation.

Representing unions and workers

Lisa Darmanin

Lisa Darmanin is the current Secretary of the Australian Services Union (Victorian and Tasmanian Authorities and Services Branch). The ASU leads advocacy and campaigning across social and community services, local government, and the public sector.

In 2016, Lisa was inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll for Women in recognition of her significant contribution to the Victorian community, specifically in achieving gender equity for women. Lisa has extensive board experience and is currently Chair of Vision Super, Board Director of the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees, and the Trust for Nature, as well as a Shareholder Representative of the IFM Shareholder Advisory Board.

Elisa Dickenson

Elisa Dickenson is Senior Industrial Officer of the Health and Community Services Union (Health Services Union, Vic No. 2 Branch) and has been at the Union since 2015. She leads the industrial team at the union and represents members working in disability and mental health.

She holds a Bachelor of Arts/Laws degree and has extensive legal and advocacy experience. Prior to working at the union, she was a Senior Criminal Solicitor at the Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service and regularly appeared in the Magistrates’ Court across Victoria.

Julie Warren

In addition to her work with the Authority, Julie Warren is also on the Board of Victorian WorkCover Authority (WorkSafe Victoria) and the Migrant Workers Centre Inc. She has worked for more than 20 years with the National Union of Workers and was president of the union’s Victoria branch for 13 years. In that role, she has been part of a number of valuable changes in strategic direction.

Previously Julie was the Senior Vice President of the Victorian Trades Hall Council and has considerable understanding of the issues and concerns that are relevant to contract industries.

Representing employers and industry

Emma King OAM

Emma King is currently CEO and Company Secretary of the Victorian Council of Social Service. Emma is a strong voice on social justice, has a Masters in Industrial and Employee Relations and has worked as a policy adviser, teacher and in a range of industrial and training roles.

Emma is also a member of the Victorian Skills Authority and the Chair of the Farnham Street Neighbourhood House Learning Centre. Emma received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the King’s Birthday 2023 Honours List for services to the community through social welfare organisations.

Tim Piper AM

Tim Piper is the Head of the Australian Industry Group’s Victorian branch, advocating for more than 12,000 businesses in Victoria and over 60,000 across Australia. He has had significant engagement with government at all levels. He chairs the Industry Capability Network, is deputy Chair of the Rail Industry Advisory Council and sits on a number of Ministerial Committees and government bodies.

He is also on the Board and a Director at GS1 and Co-Invest. A lawyer in private practice in Australia and the UK, Tim was previously Executive Director of the Australian Retailers Association in Victoria. Tim was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List for significant service to industry and manufacturing, to skills training, and to multicultural youth.

Rachaell Saunders

Rachaell Saunders is founder and CEO of National Protective Services a leading national security organisation that specialises in both protective services and electronic security. Having founded the organisation in 1988 Rachaell has an extensive career within the security industry. Rachaell has various qualifications in marketing, international business, risk management, security and business. As CEO of National Protective Services, she sets the strategic direction for the business with focus on operations, finance, human resources, sales and marketing.

Rachaell has been on the board of the Australian Security Industry Association Limited (ASIAL) the peak body for security employers for several years and is currently Vice President.

CEO and Registrar

Joseph Yeung

Joseph Yeung is an experienced corporate governance and corporate services professional and was the chief financial officer at the Department of Premier and Cabinet from 2017 to 2019.

Before working in State Government, Joseph was an Assistant Secretary in the Civil Justice and Legal Group Division at the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department in Canberra. Joseph is a Fellow of CPA Australia, a chartered accountant as well as a lawyer and Victorian Legal Practitioner. He also holds an MBA (Executive).

As Registrar, Joseph is a non-voting member of the Governing Board.

As Chief Executive Officer, Joseph is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Authority and its operations.

Audit and Risk Committee

The Audit and Risk Committee consists of the following members: Claire Filson, Rachaell Saunders, Julie Warren and Peter Wyatt (independent member).

Peter Wyatt, Independent Member

The Audit and Risk Committee’s independent member, Peter Wyatt, is the Chief Financial Officer of Treasury Corporation Victoria (TCV) and has responsibility for TCV’s finance and reporting and settlements functions. Prior to joining TCV in 2006, Peter was the Chief Financial Officer of the State Superannuation Fund, having formerly held senior management roles in life insurance and financial services organisations.

Peter has a Bachelor of Business and a Graduate Diploma of Applied Finance, is a Certified Practicing Accountant, a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and of the Australian Corporate Treasury Association.