Know Your Council – Darebin City Council

Return to council map


Darebin City is bounded by the Merri Creek to the west and the Darebin Creek to the east.

It is a large, diverse municipality to the north of the central business district that incorporates a mix of residential, industrial and retail areas. The city includes La Trobe University and Northland Shopping Centre.

The main industries include paper and paper products manufacturing.

More than 35% of Darebin's residents were born overseas and more than 40% can speak a language other than English. One in five is over 60.


Alphington, Bundoora, Coburg, Coburg North, Fairfield, Keon Park, Kingsbury, Macleod, Northcote, Preston, Regent West, Reservoir and Thornbury.

Static map image of Darebin City Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Central- Cr Lina Mesina
  • North Central - Cr Julie Williams - Mayor
  • North East - Cr Tim Laurence
  • North West - Cr Gaetano Greco
  • South Central - Cr Susan Rennie
  • South East - Cr Emily Dimitriadis
  • South - Cr Tom Hannan
  • South West - Cr Trent McCarthy
  • West - Cr Susanne Newton - Deputy Mayor

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission