Know Your Council – Hume City Council

Return to council map


Hume City is a growing, urban fringe municipality about 20 kms from Melbourne's central business district.

The southern parts of the city are well-established urban areas, while the north remains rural in character. Almost 29% of its residents were born overseas. It has a young community with 31% of persons aged under 18.

Hume is at the Hume Highway, Calder Highway and Metropolitan Ring Road crossroads. It includes the busy Melbourne Airport.

The main industries include motor vehicle and part manufacturing, air and space transport, other services to transport, electronic equipment manufacturing.


Attwood, Broadmeadows, Bulla, Campbellfield, Clarkefield, Coolaroo, Craigieburn, Dallas, Diggers Rest, Fawkner, Gladstone Park, Greenvale, Jacana, Kalkallo, Keilor, Meadow Heights, Melbourne Airport, Mickleham, Oaklands Junction, Roxburgh Park, Somerton, Sunbury, Tullamarine, Westmeadows, Wildwood and Yuroke.

Static map image of Hume City Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Aitken - Cr Carly Moore
  • Aitken - Cr Joseph Haweil - Mayor
  • Aitken - Cr Jodi Jackson
  • Aitken - Cr Jim Overend
  • Jackson Creek - Cr Steve Medcraft
  • Jackson Creek - Cr Jarrod Bell
  • Jackson Creek - Cr Trevor Dance
  • Meadow Valley - Cr Karen Sherry - Deputy Mayor
  • Meadow Valley - Cr Chris Hollow
  • Meadow Valley - Cr Naim Kurt
  • Meadow Valley - Cr Sam Misho

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission