Know Your Council – Mount Alexander Shire Council

Return to council map


The Mount Alexander Shire, centred on Castlemaine and Maldon, is 120 kms north west of Melbourne.

It has a strong manufacturing and engineering base. The main industries are food processing and steel fabrication. The shire also offers extensive health services for the elderly and is the location of two prisons.

The main industries include meat and meat product manufacturing, agriculture, Industrial machinery and equipment manufacturing.


Barfold, Baringhup, Baringhup West, Barkers Creek, Bradford, Campbells Creek, Campbelltown, Carisbrook, Castlemaine, Chewton, Chewton Bushlands, Drummond North, Eastville, Eddington, Elphinstone, Faraday, Franklinford, Fryerstown, Glenluce, Golden Point, Gower, Green Gully, Greenhill, Guildford, Harcourt, Harcourt North, Irishtown, Joyces Creek, Langley, Lockwood South, Maldon, Malmsbury, McKenzies Hill, Metcalfe, Metcalfe East, Moolort, Moonlight Flat, Muckleford, Muckleford South, Myrtle Creek, Neereman, Newstead, Nuggetty, Porcupine Flat, Ravenswood, Ravenswood South, Redesdale, Sandon, Shelbourne, Strangways, Strathlea, Sutton Grange, Taradale, Tarilta, Tarrengower, Vaughan, Walmer, Welshmans Reef, Werona, Yandoit Hills and Yapeen.

Static map image of Mount Alexander Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Calder - Cr Anthony Cordy
  • Castlemaine - Cr Rosie Annear - Mayor
  • Castlemaine - Cr Bill Maltby
  • Castlemaine - Cr Gary McLure
  • Coliban - Cr Christine Henderson
  • Loddon - Cr Matthew Driscoll - Deputy Mayor
  • Tarrengower - Cr Stephen Gardner

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission