Know Your Council – West Wimmera Shire Council

Return to council map


West Wimmera lies in western Victoria on the South Australian border, about half way between Melbourne and Adelaide.

The economy of the shire is dominated by agricultural production, particularly wheat, sheep and vegetables.

The area also boasts a large variety of natural environments, including the Big Desert Wilderness Park, the Little Desert National Park and about 3,000 wetlands.


Apsley, Benayeo, Big Desert, Bringalbert, Broughton, Charam, Chetwynd, Connewirrecoo, Dergholm, Dorodong, Douglas, Edenhope, Goroke, Grass Flat, Gymbowen, Harrow, Kadnook, Kaniva, Karnak, Langkoop, Lawloit, Lillimur, Miga Lake, Minimay, Miram, Mitre, Neuarpurr, Nurcoung, Ozenkadnook, Patyah, Peronne, Poolaijelo, Powers Creek, Serviceton, Tarrayoukyan, Telopea Downs, Ullswater and Wombelano.

Static map image of West Wimmera Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Unsubdivided - Cr Bruce Meyer - Mayor
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Trevor Domaschenz
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Tim Meyer
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Tom Houlihan
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Jodie Pretlove - Deputy Mayor

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission