Know Your Council – Wyndham City Council

Return to council map


The City is located on the western edge of Melbourne and covers an area of 542km² and features 27.4km of coastline. The city features major tourism attractions including the Werribee Park and Mansion, State Rose Garden, Werribee Open Range Zoo, Equestrian Centre, Harbour Marina, Point Cook Coastal Park and RAAF museum; and the Western Treatment Plant. It is home to major recreation and leisure facilities including AquaPulse and Eagle Stadium.

The key industrial precincts are Laverton North and Truganina and the key industries are manufacturing and logistics. The professional and commercial sector includes Victoria University, CSIRO Food Innovation Centre and the University of Melbourne Veterinary Clinic and Hospital.

Wyndham is a designated growth area of Melbourne, currently ranked as the third fastest growing local government area in Victoria. Wyndham has a growing and diverse population and growth has been rapid and forecasts indicate the population will be in excess of 330,000 by 2031.

Wyndham is part of the Interface council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Cocoroc, Eynesbury, Hoppers Crossing, Laverton, Laverton North, Laverton RAAF, Little River, Mambourin, Mount Cottrell, Point Cook, Quandong, Tarneit, Truganina, Werribee, Werribee South, Williams Landing and Wyndham Vale.

Static map image of Wyndham City Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Chaffey - Cr Josh Gilligan
  • Chaffey - Cr Jennie Barrera - Deputy Mayor
  • Chaffey - Cr Marcel Mahfoud
  • Chaffey - Cr Robert Szatkowski
  • Harrison - Cr Adele Hegedich
  • Harrison - Cr Jasmine Hill
  • Harrison - Cr Susan McIntyre
  • Harrison - Cr Sahana Ramesh
  • Iramoo - Cr Heather Marcus
  • Iramoo - Cr Peter Maynard - Mayor
  • Iramoo - Cr Mia Shaw

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission