Know Your Council – Glenelg Shire Council

Return to council map


The Glenelg Shire is nestled in Victoria's south west corner.

Located around a deep-water port, Portland is the major centre in the shire and home to one of only two aluminium smelters in Victoria.

Natural attractions include the Glenelg River flowing and the surrounding national parks.

The shire's economy is based around service industries, timber production, grazing and manufacturing.

The main industries include basic non-ferrous metal manufacturing, agriculture, marine fishing.


Allestree, Bahgallah, Bessiebelle, Bolwarra, Branxholme, Breakaway Creek, Brimboal, Byaduk, Cape Bridgewater, Carapook, Cashmore, Casterton, Chetwynd, Clover Flat, Condah, Corndale, Dartmoor, Dergholm, Digby, Drik Drik, Drumborg, Dunrobin, Dutton Way, Gorae, Gorae West, Grassdale, Greenwald, Heathmere, Henty, Heywood, Homerton, Hotspur, Killara, Lake Condah, Lake Mundi, Lindsay, Lyons, Merino, Milltown, Mount Eckersley, Mount Richmond, Mumbannar, Muntham, Myamyn, Nangeela, Nareen, Narrawong, Nelson, Paschendale, Portland, Portland North, Portland West, Sandford, Strathdownie, Tahara, Tahara Bridge, Tahara West, Tyrendarra, Wallacedale, Wando Bridge, Wando Vale, Warrock and Winnap.

Static map image of Glenelg Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Unsubdivided - Cr Michael Carr
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Anita Rank
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Karen Stephens
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Scott Martin - Mayor
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Gilbert Wilson
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Crissy Hawker
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Jayden Smith - Deputy Mayor

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission