Know Your Council – Hindmarsh Shire Council

Return to council map


Hindmarsh Shire is in the Wimmera-Mallee region, about 350 kms northwest of Melbourne.

It is bordered in the north by the Big Desert / Wyperfeld National Park, and in the south by the Little Desert National Park. The economy of Hindmarsh is based largely on dryland, broadacre farming, especially grain (wheat, barley and oats) and sheep, but in recent years has diversified into the production of oilseeds and legumes.

Agricultural manufacture and tourism are also important.


Albacutya, Antwerp, Big Desert, Broughton, Crymelon, Dimboola, Gerang Gerung, Glenlee, Jeparit, Kaniva, Kenmare, Kiata, Lake Hindmarsh, Little Desert, Lorquon, Netherby, Nhill, Rainbow, Tarranyurk and Yanac.

Static map image of Hindmarsh Shire Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • East - Cr Debra Nelson
  • East - Wendy Bywaters
  • North - Cr Ron Ismay
  • North - Cr Brett Ireland - Mayor
  • West - Cr Rob Gersch
  • West - Cr Melanie Albrecht - Deputy Mayor

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission