Know Your Council – Swan Hill Rural City Council

Return to council map


Swan Hill is an agricultural area about 4 hours drive North-West of Melbourne.

The area includes both dryland farming areas in the west and irrigated areas in the east. The Swan Hill township services a wide catchment, including areas into New South Wales. It is also a popular tourist destination.

The main industry is agriculture.


Annuello, Bannerton, Beauchamp, Beverford, Bolton, Boundary Bend, Bulga, Castle Donnington, Chillingollah, Chinangin, Chinkapook, Cocamba, Fish Point, Gerahmin, Goschen, Gowanford, Happy Valley, Kenley, Kooloonong, Kunat, Lake Boga, Lake Powell, Liparoo, Manangatang, Meatian, Miralie, Murnungin, Murrawee, Murraydale, Narrung, Natya, Nowie, Nyah, Nyah West, Nyrraby, Pental Island, Piangil, Pira, Polisbet, Robinvale, Speewa, Swan Hill, Swan Hill West, Tol Tol, Towan, Tresco, Tresco West, Tudor, Turoar, Tyntynder, Tyntynder South, Tyrrell, Ultima, Ultima East, Vinifera, Waitchie, Wandown, Wemen, Winlaton, Winnambool, Wood Wood, Woorinen, Woorinen North and Woorinen South.

Static map image of Swan Hill Rural City Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • Unsubdivided - Cr Jade Benham
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Chris Jeffrey
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Nicole McKay
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Les McPhee - Mayor
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Bill Moar
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Anne Young
  • Unsubdivided - Cr Stuart King - Deputy Mayor

Further information

Community satisfaction

Swan Hill Rural City Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual report

Swan Hill Rural City Council Annual Report 2021/22

Annual budget

Swan Hill Rural City Council Annual Budget 2022/23

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Region Summary - Swan Hill

Aboriginal community profile

Swan Hill Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations)

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission

Consultation and Council data