Know Your Council – Wangaratta Rural City Council

Return to council map


Wangaratta is a manufacturing and commercial centre in north-east Victoria.

The rural city's traditional strengths of clothing and textile production has been supplemented in recent years by the manufacturing of wine and wood products.

Wangaratta is the municipality's largest urban centre, with approximately 18,000 residents. The region prides itself on its wineries, gourmet food, spectacular scenery, historic legends, cultural heritage and access to numerous State and National Parks.

The outdoors are also a focus for popular leisure activities in the region.


Archerton, Bobinawarrah, Boorhaman, Boorhaman East, Boorhaman North, Boralma, Boweya, Bowmans Forest, Bowser, Byawatha, Carboor, Cheshunt, Cheshunt South, Docker, Dockers Plains, Edi, Edi Upper, Eldorado, Everton, Everton Upper, Glenrowan, Greta, Greta South, Greta West, Hansonville, Killawarra, King Valley, Laceby, Londrigan, Lurg Upper, Markwood, Meadow Creek, Milawa, Moyhu, Murmungee, Myrrhee, Oxley, Oxley Flats, Peechelba, Peechelba East, Rose River, Springhurst, Tarrawingee, Tatong, Tolmie, Wabonga, Waldara, Wangandary, Wangaratta, Wangaratta East, Wangaratta North, Wangaratta South, Whitfield, Whitlands, Whorouly, Whorouly East, Whorouly South and Yarrunga.

Static map image of Wangaratta Rural City Council boundaries

Vicmap Basemap Services @ 2023 State Government Victoria | Copyright and Disclaimer

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


  • City - Cr Ashlee Fitzpatrick
  • City - Cr Jack Henry
  • City - Cr Dave Fuller
  • City - Cr Dean Rees - Mayor
  • North - Cr Harvey Benton
  • South - Cr Harry Bussell - Deputy Mayor
  • Warby - Cr Irene Grant

Further information

Community satisfaction

Annual report

Annual budget

Australian Bureau of Statistics demographics

Aboriginal community profile

Victorian Local Government Grants Commission