Victoria government logo

Advisory panel

The OBRM Advisory Panel brings together executive representatives from Victorian Government departments and agencies and independent experts to support the work of OBRM.

We are supported by an expert Advisory Panel that comprises executive representatives from Victorian government departments and agencies with fuel and land management responsibilities as well as four independent knowledge experts with technical expertise in bushfire risk modelling and management, fire ecology, community behaviour change, land use planning, and other specialist capabilities.

The Emergency Management Commissioner is a standing member of the Advisory Panel representing Emergency Management Victoria, ensuring linkages to Victoria’s integrated emergency management arrangements and associated preparedness and assurance activities.

The Panel provides advice to the DEECA Secretary on agreed priority focus areas to assist us in effectively acquitting its accountability to lead and coordinate the implementation of evidence-based bushfire risk management across all public and private land in Victoria.

The Panel is appointed by the Minister for Environment and we provide secretariat support. The Panel meets quarterly or as required.

The inaugural Advisory Panel members appointed in 2021 are:

Government Department / Knowledge expert / Skill Member
Chairperson Gary Morgan AM AFSM
Chief Fire Officer - DEECA Chris Hardman
Deputy Chief Fire Officer - CFA Alen Slijepcevic
Deputy Commissioner Central, South, and East Operations – FRV Gavin Freeman
Executive Director, Emergency coordination and resilience – DJSIR Rachaele May
Chief, Network operations – DTP Brett Langley
Bushfire risk modelling and management expert Dr Trent Penman
Fire ecology expert Naomi Stephens
Community behaviour change expert Dr Katharine Haynes
Land use planning expert Gabby McMillan
Emergency Management Commissioner – EMV (ex officio member) Andrew Crisp
Secretary – DEECA (standing observer) John Bradley
Director, OBRM (standing observer) Courtney Bertram

Reviewed 05 January 2023

Was this page helpful?