About information sharing and the MARAM reforms

More information on the Child Information Sharing Scheme, the Family Violence Information Sharing Scheme and MARAM.

The Victorian government is progressing 3 interrelated reforms that are integral to reducing family violence and promoting child wellbeing and safety.

The Child Information Sharing Scheme (CISS)

Enables authorised organisations and services to share information to promote the wellbeing and safety of children. Find more information on Child information sharing.

The Family Violence Information Sharing Scheme (FVISS)

Enables authorised organisations and services to share information to facilitate assessment and management of family violence risk to children and adults. Find more information on Family violence information sharing.

The Multi-Agency Risk Assessment and Management Framework (MARAM)

Sets out the responsibilities of different workforces in identifying, assessing and managing family violence risk across the family violence and broader service system.

MARAM will guide information sharing under both information sharing schemes wherever family violence is present.

Find more information on the MARAM framework.

Both of the information sharing schemes aim to remove barriers to information sharing to allow organisations and services to work together, across the service system. This allows them to make more informed decisions and better respond to the needs of children, families and those experiencing family violence.

Together, these reforms create a more collaborative, integrated system that will help improve safety and wellbeing outcomes for all Victorians.

Introduction to the information sharing reforms and MARAM

Watch the video

When do the reforms start?

Initial group

FVISS started on 26 February 2018 for an initial group of information sharing entities (key organisations and services).

Phase one

More organisations and services were prescribed under both information sharing schemes and MARAM in September 2018.

Phase two

Subject to consultation, additional organisations and services are likely to be authorised in 2020 under all 3 reforms.

Which organisations must apply the information sharing schemes and MARAM?

The following organisations are authorised:

Organisations authorised under MARAM, the Family Violence Information Sharing Scheme and the Child Information Sharing Scheme:

  • Child Protection
  • Department of Health and Human Services Housing
  • Designated mental health services
  • Justice Health and funded programs (for children)
  • Maternal and Child Health Services
  • Multi-Agency Panels to Prevent Youth Offending
  • Out-of-home care services
  • Perpetrator intervention trials
  • Registered community-based child and family services
  • Risk Assessment and Management Panels
  • State-funded specialist family violence services including family violence counselling, therapeutic programs and perpetrator intervention
  • State-funded alcohol and other drugs services
  • State-funded homelessness accommodation or homelessness support services (providing access point, outreach and accommodation services)
  • State-funded sexual assault services and sexually abusive behaviour treatment services
  • The Orange Door (Support and Safety Hubs)
  • Victims Assistance Program-funded services
  • Victoria Police
  • Victims of Crime Helpline
  • Youth Justice and funded programs, including the Youth Parole Board (Secretariat)

Organisations only authorised under MARAM and Family Violence Information Sharing Scheme

  • Adult Parole Board
  • Children’s Court officials
  • Corrections Victoria and Corrections funded services
  • Court-ordered family violence counselling services
  • Justice Health and funded services (for adults)
  • Magistrates’ Court officials
  • State-funded financial counselling programs
  • Tenancy Advice and Advocacy Program
  • Victims Support Agency

Organisations only authorised under Family Violence and Child Information Sharing Schemes

  • Commission for Children and Young People
  • Disability Services Commissioner

Organisations only authorised under the Child Information Sharing Scheme

  • Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages

Organisations that are Risk Assessment Entities

Some ISEs are also prescribed as Risk Assessment Entities (RAEs) under the Family Violence Information Sharing Scheme.

The type of organisations are listed in chapter 2 of the Family Violence Information Sharing Guidelines.

Access the list of authorised organisations

Certain authorised entities (including those organisations and services in sectors in the Family Violence Information Sharing Scheme in February 2018) can access the online Information Sharing Entities list. A redeveloped online option will soon be available.

You can request access if your organisation is funded by:

  • Department of Justice and Community Safety
  • Family Safety Victoria
  • Court Services

ISEs funded from one of the above agencies can request access to the online ISE list by registering via this link:

Submit your request online

For any enquiries about ISEs email or

Reviewed 05 March 2019