Victoria government logo

Regional model: Department of Education

We use a regional model to deliver education services across the state.

Under this model the state is divided into four regions:

  • North Eastern Region
  • North Western Region
  • South Eastern Region
  • South Western Region

Schools, early childhood services and training organisations work with us via their local regional office. Within each region there are also a number of local area teams.

Region map

Use the map to find your closest regional office. Click on a marker for that office's contact details.

Regions and areas

Map of the region boundaries and list of the supporting local area teams.

Regions and their area teams

Map of the regions and areas of Victoria for the Department of Education and Training regional model
Regions and their area teams
Regions and their area teams
Region Area teams
North-Eastern Victoria Inner Eastern Melbourne
Boroondara, Manningham, Monash, Whitehorse
Outer Eastern Melbourne
Knox, Maroondah, Yarra Ranges
Greater Shepparton, Mitchell, Moira, Murrindindi, Strathbogie
Ovens Murray
Alpine, Benalla, Indigo, Mansfield, Towong, Wangaratta, Wodonga
Benalla, Glen Waverley, Seymour, Shepparton, Wangaratta and Wodonga
North-Western Victoria North Eastern Melbourne
Banyule, Darebin, Nillumbik, Whittlesea, Yarra
Hume Moreland
Hume, Moreland
Loddon Campaspe
Campaspe, Central Goldfields, Greater Bendigo, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mount Alexander
Buloke, Gannawarra, Mildura, Swan Hill
Bendigo, Coburg, Greensborough, Mildura and Swan Hill
South-Eastern Victoria Southern Melbourne
Cardinia, Casey, Greater Dandenong
Bayside Peninsula
Bayside, Frankston, Glen Eira, Kingston, Mornington Peninsula, Port Phillip, Stonnington
Inner Gippsland
Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Latrobe, South Gippsland
Outer Gippsland
East Gippsland, Wellington
Cheltenham, Dandenong, Frankston, Leongatha, Moe, Sale and Warragul
South-Western Victoria Western Melbourne
Hobsons Bay, Maribyrnong, Melbourne, Moonee Valley, Wyndham
Brimbank Melton
Brimbank, Melton
Central Highlands
Ararat, Ballarat, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Moorabool, Pyrenees
Colac Otway, Greater Geelong, Queenscliffe, Surf Coast
Wimmera South West Area
Corangamite, Glenelg, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Moyne, Northern Grampians, Southern Grampians, Warrnambool, West Wimmera, Yarriambiack
Ararat, Ballarat, Footscray, Geelong, Horsham, Keilor and Warrnambool
Download Regions and their area teams

What regional offices do

Regional offices connect our central office and our service providers, ensuring that policy intent and outcomes are delivered on-the-ground.

The offices include a number of area teams who work with the local community. Through these teams, schools, early childhood services, vocational education services, learners and their families have access to a range of experts for advice and support.

Regions can provide support around:

  • improving the health, wellbeing and development outcomes of children, young people and adult learners, with a focus on the vulnerable
  • disability, nursing and specialist children’s services
  • Koorie engagement
  • funding and oversight of early childhood services
  • operational health and safety for education and early childhood providers.
  • school improvement
  • program planning and implementation, such as the framework for improving student outcomes
  • emergency management
  • workforce development
  • regional financial management.

Area teams facilitate local networks, develop partnerships to support successful transitions between ages and stages of the learning continuum, and encourage collective responsibility for all learners in the community.

Area teams receive additional support from two regional divisions — early childhood and school support division and school improvement division — both of which will provide strategic support to implement priority early childhood and school education policy and reform projects.

Contact a regional office

Reviewed 19 December 2022

Department of Education

Was this page helpful?