Victoria government logo

Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (VEYLDF)

The Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework supports all professionals who work with children aged 0-8.

The Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (VEYLDF) includes a range of discipline-specific guidelines and practice resources. It supports all professionals who work with children aged 0-8.

The VEYLDF framework


It identifies five learning and development outcomes for all children from birth to eight years:

It provides practice principles to guide early childhood professionals to work together, with children and with families to achieve the best outcomes for every child.

The framework:

  • enables you to work more effectively with other professionals and with families
  • provides valuable guidance for supporting children and families in their transitions through the first eight years of a child’s life
  • provides a shared language and guiding principles for achieving the best outcomes for every child by supporting continuity of learning.

Hard copies of the VEYLDF are no longer available.

The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia V2.0

The original Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) was developed prior to (and formally introduced with) the commencement of the National Quality Framework (NQF) in 2012. The purpose of the update to the EYLF is to ensure it continues to reflect contemporary developments in practice and knowledge, while supporting all educators to promote the learning, development, and wellbeing of each child.

Many of the updates to the EYLF are in close alignment with concepts and approaches within the VEYLDF. The updates strengthen the connection between the EYLF V2.0 and the National Quality Standard in areas such as transitions, sustainability, theoretical approaches, critical reflection, the importance of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander ways of being, knowing and doing, and inclusion.

The changes include clarifications and expanded explanations across elements of the original EYLF and a smaller number of more substantial changes. Changes include the addition of three new principles and updated practices across all relevant aspects of the EYLF V2.0. Practices around the five Learning Outcomes have been updated, however the Outcomes themselves are still fit for purpose and remain as prescribed in the National Regulations.

Visit the ACECQA websiteExternal Link to view the new Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) V2.0.

Read a summary of the updates to the EYLF V2.0External Link and how the key changes map to the VEYLDF.

The revised VEYLDF includes illustrative mapsExternal Link that link each of the five outcomes for learning and development to the first three levels of the Victorian Curriculum F-10.

The VEYLDF shares the same five learning and development outcomes as:

Background to the framework

The VEYLDF was revised in partnership between the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA) and us, the Department.

A series of consultations was held with key researchers, stakeholders, policy makers and early childhood professionals from early childhood education and care, maternal and child health, early childhood intervention, parent support and playgroups, schools, outside school hours care, and cultural organisations.

A recent five-year study shows how program quality and selection can impact on children’s learning and development. For more information, refer to: E4 StudyExternal Link

More information

Reviewed 30 January 2023


Was this page helpful?